Media Release

Bush Fire Danger Period Starts Early

18 August 2017

The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) has extended the statutory Bush Fire Danger Period in the Bathurst, Oberon and Lithgow Local Government Areas due to continuing hot and dry conditions.

NSW RFS Operational Officer, Brett Taylor said the Bush Fire Danger Period usually commences on 1 October, but has been brought forward to 1 September this year due to prevailing weather conditions in the Chifley/Lithgow Team area.

“The extension means anyone wishing to light a fire in the Bathurst, Oberon or Lithgow local government areas will require a permit,” Officer Taylor said.

“Fire permits are free and available from your local fire station or Fire Control Centre.

“Residents must also notify neighbouring land owners and their local fire authority 24 hours prior to burning.”

Officer Taylor said the decision to extend the Bush Fire Danger Period was made in consultation with Senior Volunteers and the Bush Fire Management Committees.

“These decisions are never made lightly and involve a number of stakeholders from the local area,” said Officer Taylor.

“Our overriding concern is the safety of all Bathurst, Oberon and Lithgow residents and we have acted accordingly by starting the Bush Fire Danger Period early on 1 September 2017.

“Now is not the time for anyone to become complacent about the risk of bush fires and I urge all residents to have a completed Bush Fire Survival Plan available, and to report any unattended fires they see to Triple Zero (000) immediately.”

Fire permits are available by contacting 1300 258 737. A permit officer will be in contact with you to fulfil your request at a mutually agreed time.